Why I Suck at Blogging

I suck at blogging lately.

And it’s not because I haven’t taken any trips or because I don’t have anything interesting going on in my life.

I’ve been to a few new places, bought a house, went to an erotic art show, cooked a few interesting meals, met some new people, got a kitten, ya know. Stuff that might make for some decent blog content.

Now I’ve began to wonder if people really want/care to see what I’m doing. There are plenty of bloggers who can tell you what face wash to use, what places to visit, and if HelloFresh is really worth the money (it is).

Honestly… the things I want to write about… I can’t talk about. Or, at least I don’t want to publicly. I feel like I’ve done a good job at being neutral on all types of social media. Like, you could probably read through my feed or look at my stuff and get a decent sense of who I am and what I’m about… but I’m not one to publicly speak about my own personal beliefs. And I know when we hear beliefs we think about 1. politics and 2. religion, but I’m not just referring to those.

Beliefs, to me, are also in relation to a persons thoughts about any particular subject. Whether that be politics and religion, or ya know… love… or the meaning of life… or what happens after we die.

Outside of beliefs, I don’t feel it’s always appropriate to share my own thoughts in a space that’s accessible to the entire world. Not because they’re super scandalous or top secret, but because they’re just not for everyone to read.

There are plenty of things that I’d like to “journal” about, just to get out of my mind, but these are things that I wouldn’t want to share with anyone. Some because they are private, others because they may seem controversial and I don’t have the time to risk offending someone.

So this leaves me with… what do I blog about? Do people like to read about my travel experiences? Do people care to hear about my surface level thoughts? Do you want to know about what recipes I’m trying and what skin care has worked for me? Is my lack of relationship content really bumming you out?

I’m trying to figure out this whole blogging thing and where I stand with it now. For a while I was using it as an outlet for thoughts during major life transitions, and I found it to be an easy way to share photos of my travel experiences. And maybe I’ll continue to use it for that, but I’m in a place where I feel like the content I share here will have to stay at the surface level and I may have to find some other outlet to write about topics that dig a little deeper. Maybe a Lisa Frank diary??? A secret anonymous blog??? I’ll never tell.

A lot has happened since I started my first blog, “Mason’s Jar” and I think it’s time for Mason to crawl out of the jar, put some flowers in it, and go for an aquarium or something. I’ve got a makeshift coffin in my backyard, so that’s an option. Mason’s Coffin. It’s got a nice ring to it. See? Interesting things are definitely still happening.

But anyway. If anyone’s reading this, I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth. I’m still living a semi-cool life. I just think I’ve outgrown this space. We’ll see.

Juicy

P.S. I mostly just want to post dumb stuff like this. Also, will Juicy track suits be “in” again? Were they ever?

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

