Laguna / 2017

Just a short week after getting home from Portland I had another opportunity to travel for work… but this time, to a place not so cold and dreary.

L A G U N A  B E A C H.

Every time I’m out of town I get a few messages from different people asking what I do for work and how I’m able to travel so often. So here it is. I won’t share too much (as to not overwhelm you with awesomeness), but we do a variety of marketing services for medical companies around the U.S. – primarily orthopedic groups. This time we traveled for an orthopedic conference held in Laguna Beach.

Laguna Beach was my first taste of California. I’ve never been before this trip. Aside from the cost of living, I think I understand why people flock there.

As soon as we arrived and began our trek from the airport to the hotel on Pacific Coast Highway, my happiness levels immediately elevated. Looking at all of this, how could someone NOT be happy? Simply beautiful.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Poolside views.Processed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

The view from my hotel room.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

When I took this picture I was alone by the pool, thinking “Is this really my life right now? What if I would’ve stayed at the job I hated? What if I wouldn’t have gone to that interview with the dude in the suit who gave me a box of gluten-free pancake mix?” … I wouldn’t be in Laguna Beach, that’s what. Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Hotel room.IMG_9604

So during this trip, we set up a headshot booth where we took photos of the people who came to the conference. This meant a lot of really great test shots of myself. More photos of me than I want or will ever need, to be honest.IMG_9804IMG_9813

These ocean lunch views though!!! IMG_9623

Seared Ahi Tuna salad.IMG_9624

If you like Pina Coladas… and lounging by the pool for your two hour break…Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

All of these flavors and you chose to be… (you’ve seen this meme, right?)Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

More photo booth stuff. Proudly reppin’ HM, of course.HM

This was at 9 pm Laguna time, and 11 pm Oklahoma time. We were trying to act like we had more energy than we actually did. Also, maybe you should download the Prisma app? Idk, but Joe uses it to make me look worse in photos than I do in real life.IMG_9674

Most of the time, I only share fun, scenic pics… but I want to mix in a few that show what we actually do when we’re on these trips. Like, sit in an empty room, wait for video interviews, and eat ice cream. I guess it’s almost as glamorous as what you were probably imagining.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Eating on the floor is really professional.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Joe picked up a gig in Laguna as a beach real estate agent. His show is coming soon to HGTV. (this was taken on my iPhone and I was really impressed! at the quality of photo not by my boss)Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

If you don’t take a beach silhouette photo, did you even go to the beach?Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Those cotton-candy colored sunsets.Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

This is probably my favorite photo of the whole trip. I made a meme of myself.FullSizeRender

But have you ever seen anyone look so satisfied? I think not.Croissant

Breathtakingly beautiful. All of it.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My toes mostly stayed in the sand because the ocean was ice-cold.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Basic palm trees.Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Quality beach photos.Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Sometimes we work while working (by “we” I mean Joe).Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

A view from the ship on the overcast day we went whale watching. Where we saw a whale’s tail come out of the water twice. It was thrilling.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I don’t look freezing, but I am freezing.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Right before Remi asked her mom and dad if she could marry me.WW_1

I said yes!!! WW_2

…and the picture she drew of us getting married that night at dinner. Our wedding day was lovely.IMG_9840

Sunday before we left we had a chance to have breakfast and walk around in downtown Laguna Beach. We stumbled upon this little Dr. Seuss museum.Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

A picture of Joe taking a picture of me taking a picture of myself on our last day at the beach.IMG_9747

I N C E P T I O N (?)IMG_9750

For some reason, this trip really put things in perspective for me. Every minute I was there, I felt overcome with gratitude. Which sounds corny …but how lucky am I to have a job that takes me to places like this? And outside of the trip, how lucky am I to have the life that I do with the people who I share it with?

Not everything is perfect and this world is so much bigger than me, but I don’t ever want to lose focus of all of the good I’ve got going on here, in my own little world. So grateful for every person, moment, and opportunity.

That’s all for now. Heading to Denver in a couple of days for a ladies trip! Follow me along on Instagram if you use it @masongrimez. I try to document my travels as they’re happening.

More trips and more travel blogs to come.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

