Portland / 2017

My 2017 tour of travels has begun. I took a short work trip to Portland, Oregon and Vancouver, Washington over the weekend. I told myself that I would be better about taking more photos of my travels this year, but nothing seems to fairly capture the experience of visiting a new place for the first time.

I did manage to take a few, though. Not as many as I would’ve liked – mostly because we were busy driving around the city looking for the coffee shop with the best wifi, but also because it was raining the entire time and my phone is not waterproof.

This is the cute little house we stayed at. Our Airbnb hosts were excellent. The first morning in Vancouver they made a Sunday waffle breakfast and we all ate together at their kitchen table. Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetimg_9317

This was my room. The butterfly quilt is a nice touch. So cozy.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

There was an incredible collage of women in my bedroom and it made me feel all #GIRLPOWER.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

The backyard, a little urban garden. Not pictured: chickens.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

This is Bubba. He was fat and sweet and I wanted to ask our hosts if he could sleep with me but wasn’t sure if that would be weird.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

We waited in line for nearly an hour for these donuts. They were magical.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Despite the pouring rain, we did manage to drive out to Multnomah Falls to take in some of the scenery.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Honestly, no photo can capture the beauty or the feeling of looking up at this great, big, wonderful creation. I want to visit again in the warmer months.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetimg_9344

One of the many coffee shops we attempted to work at.img_9377Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I talked Joe into pizza.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

…but I mean, it was hipster, healthy pizza. So it was all okay.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I also talked Joe into ice-cream. But it too was hipster (healthy?) ice-cream. Honey Lavender scoop at Salt & Straw. So freaking good.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

We went to a bar later. I almost ran off with the saxophone player.img_9449

Joe sipping his americano, ruining my photo and radiating his stress to my side of the table. What’s new.Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

The Waffle Window on Alberta Street…Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I do not regret this decision.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

The last day of traveling was a daze. I am exhausted. I may have also picked up a cold or a sinus infection. And this time next week I will be in California, adjusting to Pacific time yet again. BUT I wouldn’t trade any of it for anything else.

I am so thankful for the opportunities I have and the people I get to share my life with. Every experience is growing my story and wasting time worrying about little inconveniences is… well, a waste of time.

Until next time.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

If you’re interested in booking with Airbnb, sign up with my referral for travel credit here —> http://www.airbnb.com/c/masong3

One thought on “Portland / 2017

Add yours

  1. So glad I just happened to find this on the internet! I’ve never been to Portland, but that guy drinking coffee looks super cool. I wish I could hang out with him. He’s probably not that stressed. He’s probably just really busy. That’s all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

