New York, New York!

A couple of weeks ago I had the opportunity to visit New York City for the first time. My boss confirmed the trip roughly 7 days before we left. I didn’t take nearly as many photos as I planned to, but when you visit NYC for the first time (and you’re toting around a lot of equipment) it’s easy to get caught up in the city, and forget about your phone altogether.

We’ve got high quality photos on our camera, but I think it’s more authentic if I share the ones from my phone.

img_7430

Here I am, selfie-ing in Times Square a few hours after landing. We had a 5 am flight out of OKC. You may be able to tell by the bags under my eyes. There was also a Polish Parade taking place on the street of our hotel, so it was nearly impossible to get there.

IMG_7427.JPG

After landing, we wandered around the city for the rest of the day and night. Stopping only for food.

img_7437

img_7433

img_7435

Monday, we woke up to have breakfast with our clients at the Comfort Diner.

img_7441

The majority of the work we did in NYC  involved taking photos and video, so basically we got paid to be tourists for a couple of days.

img_7451

img_7453

img_7452

img_7454

img_7455

img_7460

img_7459

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

img_7470

img_7472

After 10 miles of walking through the city, we took a little break before walking some more.

img_7492img_7496

img_7495

We strolled through Central Park Monday evening and followed with frou-frou Italian food and red wine. Getting back into our element, we decided to make one final stop at the pub across the street from our hotel. This is where things get fuzzy.

img_7520

fullsizerender

img_7529

At the ‘ol Cock & Bull, we made friends from London. We spent too much time at the pub, they bought us HP sauce (European combo of Ketchup and A1), they expressed their sympathies for our country’s current predicament, we made plans for me to visit London in the summer, and apparently at some point we left the pub and got pizza. IDK/IDR but photos on my phone can confirm. I also lost my sweater. The following day was a complete blur and I didn’t take a lot of pictures but…

img_7581

I DID nauseously roam around Grand Central Station. I also bought a sweatshirt from the GAP in Times Square because I was cold and it was 30% off. It was a glamorous day. We went to bed before 9 pm.

img_7585

img_7588

img_7478

img_7594

img_7595

We woke up early on our last day in NYC to get some final footage around Wall Street and Battery Park before the tourists took over. Had to get a few photos of the famous bull without children sitting on it. We also attempted to visit the Empire State Building for entirely tourist reasons, but it turns out Joe’s camera equipment is too legit. They thought we were filming some unauthorized commercial without a permit and we had to leave. Because I had never experienced glorious public transportation like the subway, we bought a temp metro card and caught a ride back to the hotel to pack up.

It was a quick trip but we were able to cram quite a bit into our time there. It definitely helped me get an idea of what I’d like to do the next time I visit. But I think you could live there and still not experience everything that New York City has to offer.

A few takeaways:

  1. The only pair of shoes you need in NYC are tennis shoes. I’m not sure why anyone there wears anything else. I workout nearly every day and my legs were sore from walking so much.
  2. Hailing a cab isn’t as hard as I thought it would be. Honestly, you just have to be standing on the right corner. But it’s also not as cool as Carrie Bradshaw makes it look.
  3. Times Square is insane. It is both everything and nothing like you imagine it to be from the movies and TV shows you’ve seen. So many people, lights, sounds, smells.
  4. Be careful when partying with the British, and avoid fooling yourself into having “one more drink” if you have to work at 7 am the next morning. For undisclosed (but obvious) reasons.
  5. In the big scheme of things, we are so small and insignificant. I was in a city standing next to the only person I knew, and the only person who knew me. We get so wrapped up in our own lives with our own dramas, and we forget there are 7 billion other people on this earth – and we are all experiencing different things in our own micro lives that nobody else knows about…

Well, before that final thought turns into another blog post…I’ll end it here. I’m so grateful for a job that allows me to travel. All-in-all, it was a great experience. Till we meet again, NYC.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

