Whole 30 Week 1

Yaaay! I made it through week 1 of the Whole 30. Before I go to sleep tonight I will mark off day 7 of 30 on my homemade, countdown fridge calendar.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Surprisingly the first week wasn’t as tough as I expected it to be. Partially because I’m used to eating a (mostly) healthy diet, and partially because I was very well prepared.

This week I also finished up the two winter intercession classes I’ve been taking since the fall semester ended, and tomorrow I will start my spring/FINAL semester of college!

So what did this week look like for me, Whole30-wise?

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Day 1 got off to a great start. Overnight, I infused filtered water with mint, raspberries, orange and lemon slices! It complimented my breakfast very well. For breakfast – 2 scrambled eggs, 1/2 cup turkey sausage, chopped red pepper and salsa with a side of grapefruit. Mmmm.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Day 2 lunch was very colorful! 2 turkey balls, kale mix, mini peppers, a small Roma tomato, guacamole with a little bit of Whole30 “ranch.” Drinking a lot of water has become a part of my daily routine. Although you can still have black coffee and tea, water is the most important! (and yes, I typically drink mine in a MASON jar…cliche? a little)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Day 3 Another delicious breakfast! Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. 2 egg omelette with turkey sausage, red pepper and salsa on the side! I also cut up a grapefruit and made a smoothie with: kale, frozen strawberries, frozen bananas, unsweetened coconut flakes and almond milk! Don’t forget the black coffee!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Day 4 (and pretty much every other day this week) I had this Whole30 approved Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup, banana chips and an orange flavored LaCroix! The great thing about slow cooker recipes is that they usually make a serving of 6-8, so if I make it on a Sunday, I can eat it for lunch or dinner the rest of the week! You can find the recipe HERE! And I know the banana chips sound weird, but they’re unsweetened so they add that little crunch to the soup that you would normally get with a tortilla chip!

image5 (6)

Day 5 I was in a hurry with this one! This week has been crazy busy for me… 2 scrambled eggs, an unmeasured amount of turkey sausage, hot sauce and 2 halos! (and 2 cups of black coffee to make it through my Friday)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Day 6 This was probably my favorite meal of the week. And it was thrown together! By the end of the week my grocery supply was running low so I turned to the trusty recipe source that is Pinterest and low and behold, I found some inspiration. For this recipe I washed and skinned one sweet potato. I then chopped it into small chunks and cooked in a skillet on medium heat with 2 tbsp of coconut oil and ground cinnamon! After, I added in 2 pieces of cooked turkey bacon and topped it with parsley, Whole30 “ranch” and hot sauce! Paired with a lime LaCroix – delish.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Day 7 I was running pretty low on food today so for breakfast I had a smoothie with some black coffee. For lunch, my family decided to go to Qdoba – let me just tell you right now that restaurant dining on the Whole30 is challenging. I opted for a salad – lettuce, grilled chicken, grilled veggies, pico with guac (no salt) on the side, and a water of course. Not as good as a queso burrito… but a girl’s gotta do, what a girl’s gotta do.

What about the rest of your food? I did keep a food diary of my meals and snacks every day, but I thought I would spare you the gritty details. Highlighting some of my meals throughout the week gives you an idea of the food that I’m eating. For snacks I typically had nuts, homemade trail mix, banana chips, LaraBars or some type of fruit. When I was really dragging at work, I would turn to a cup of hot tea or black coffee. Before the gym in the morning I had an apple, a boiled egg, or a spoonful of almond butter. I’ve managed to stay comfortably full with very little cravings.

How’s your body responding? It’s still so early in the process that I can’t make any sure statements. I do feel like my body is trying to detox. My digestion has been a little different and my face has sprouted some blemishes (woo) so I feel like it’s trying to trash all of the toxins that were still in my body from Christmas meals and holiday treats. I did take “before” pictures to compare differences at the end of 30 days! So we will see!

I’m currently planning for next week, but expect to see a lot of similar meals. I know what I like and what I’m good at in most aspects of my life, cooking definitely being one. If I find a good recipe I stick to it. If it’s quick and easy to throw together – even better. If you’re at all interested in the program, I encourage you to visit the Whole30 website or reach out to me! I would love to chat with you about getting started.

For regular updates on meals add me on Instagram and Pinterest! @masongrimez

As always, that’s what’s in my jar.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

