Whole 30 – Here We Go

I mentioned in Life Lately + Welcoming 2016 that I am going to take on the Whole30 starting tomorrow, January 4. What is the Whole30, you ask? It’s a nutrition plan to help you re-energize, re-boost, and re-start from the inside out.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’m going to attach the link to the website HERE, so you can read the intricate details if you so wish to, but I will also tell you in my own words what the Whole30 is, what I’ll be doing, and why.

I got my first gym membership when I was 20 because I read somewhere that, “If you don’t make it a habit in your twenties, it’s going to be a lot harder to do in your thirties, forties and beyond.” I’ve always been a pretty petite girl, not extremely short or extremely skinny, just small. But after high school I gained about 15 lbs (the freshman fifteen DOES exist people). That doesn’t sound like a lot, but when the weight you’re gaining is from Taco Bueno not muscle mass, it’s just uncomfortable. My transformation to a healthy lifestyle started that year in the gym, and slowly grew with a new awareness of moderation and healthy eating. Since then, I have eaten relatively healthy and I’ve stayed active in the gym.

Eating healthy and exercising doesn’t need to be one of my new year’s resolutions because it is my lifestyle. So why am I doing the Whole30? Well, although I do eat healthy 75% of the time, I am still guilty of giving into crunchy or sugary snacks on a regular basis because of the unfortunate availability of it in college and at my job. I want to do this to challenge myself and push my own limits. I want to get out of my comfort zone.

So what is allowed during the Whole30? Meat, veggies, fruits, nuts (but no peanuts!), potatoes, eggs…and that’s about it.

What is NOT allowed during the Whole30? Dairy (milk, cheese, yogurt), sugars, grains, legumes (beans), honey, and a lot of other little things that you wouldn’t even think about. **I’m going to admit that most almond milk is not approved, but I had already purchased an entire carton of unsweetened almond milk that I’m going to finish off – if this is my only ‘cheat’ during 30 days, I can live with that.**

“Think of it as a short-term nutritional reset, designed to help you put an end to unhealthy cravings and habits, restore a healthy metabolism, heal your digestive tract, and balance your immune system.” – On the Whole30 website you can read all about the benefits of cutting out these foods in your diet and the reasons why participating in the Whole30 can help you take control of your body and feel more energized.

I’m lucky enough to have a friend who has done the Whole30 before and who I will have as an accountability partner for the next 30 days! We spent the majority of yesterday grocery shopping and meal prepping for the challenge ahead of us. It was tiresome, but most definitely worth the work. We spent the afternoon making our own sauces, reading labels and hunting down Whole30 approved products.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Homemade and ALL Whole30 approved! Roasted Red Pepper sauce, salsa, Italian vinaigrette, herb citrus vinaigrette and ranch – every Okie girl’s fav.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Whole30 approved mayo – you can find at Natural Grocers and other health food stores. Used in Whole30 ranch and other sauces.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Homemade snack packs made of mixed nuts (no peanuts!), dried unsweetened cranberries and bananas from Natural Grocers. LaraBars – all Whole30 approved ingredients.

I made some turkey balls and turkey sausage in bulk for lunches and breakfasts, and currently have a chicken fajita soup cooking in the CrockPot that makes 6-8 servings that I’ll distribute throughout the week.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

A serious rule of the Whole30 is no weighing yourself during the 30 days. I weighed in at 122 this morning and will not weigh again until I finish! The whole point of this program is to focus on making healthy choices for your well-being, not specifically for weight loss. It is inevitable that weight loss is often part of the program because you are cutting out all of the nasty, unnatural ingredients that are in most of the food we eat on a daily basis. I am continuing my regular gym regimen of 3 to 5 times per week.

I will share reviews and progress on my blog weekly, but I plan on keeping daily food updates on my Instagram and Pinterest. Follow me to join me on my journey and see what recipes I’m pinning @masongrimez. 

Peace out sugars, grains, and dairy. I’ll see ya on the other side. New year, new challenge.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

That’s what’s in my jar.

2 thoughts on “Whole 30 – Here We Go

Add yours

  1. Good luck! I like the way Whole30 sounds! Maybe I’ll give it a try, too. I’ve been craving something similar to this. Looking forward to your reviews😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really excited for the challenge! You should look it up on Pinterest and check out the website, it gives you a clear idea of the purpose of the program and what to expect!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

