Life Lately + Welcoming 2016

I’ve been MIA from my blog over the past month or so. Life…has…been…busy. To say the least. I finished up my Fall semester (and managed to keep my 3.5 GPA woo-hoo!), and immediately started two Winter intercession classes after finishing finals week.

I’ve been uninspired for the latter half of my past semester. Which is terrible for someone who enjoys writing. Not only was I swamped with finals responsibilities, but I felt like I had nothing to say. Nothing share-worthy. Here’s the thing about blogging, it’s easy to get caught up in the aesthetic of the blog, in comparing your blog to others’, the edited photos, the “look” of everything, and sometimes that gets in the way of the content you’re putting out for the world to read. Don’t get me wrong, I love styling outfits and trying out new lipstick, but I feel like that’s not my niche. I don’t particularly even have a niche.

I don’t ever want to feel like I am forcing myself to write. I don’t want to feel like I have to compare my blog to someone else’s. I don’t want to portray myself as someone that I’m not. I want my posts to be natural and authentic. If that means I have less page views, so be it.

Authentic. Mmm…I like that word. A wise man told me recently, “The best advice I could give you is, ‘be authentic,’ but accept that – at this age – you’re not going to be yet. Because you’re still figuring it out. Be okay with that.” (Another piece of advice he gave me was, “don’t be a douchebag” which is honestly just as important.)

So that’s what I’ve been doing lately. Trying to figure it out. In the mean time, I’m happy to say I finished the semester strong, I’m powering through these Winter break classes, I had a great Christmas totally spoiled by the people who I love, and I’m starting to get really excited for 2016.

So what’s in my foreseeable future for 2016?

Well, I’ve got a big reading list. I just finished Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS, and let me just say that every twenty-something woman looking to slay her future needs to pick up a copy ASAP. I’m ready to put all my money in the bank and take my future head-on.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

A few others on my line-up. Apparently pink and black book covers sell well.

Whole30. Yep, one of my best gal pals talked me into participating in the Whole30. I’m attaching the link so, if you’re curious, you can see what it’s all about! We’re starting January 4 and will finish February 2. If you want to know more about the program or would like to take on the challenge with us, message me! It’s always nice to have a support system. I didn’t even want to announce it on my blog or social media because that means I basically have to stick to my word (dangit now I have to do it). Keep a look out for future blog posts, though. I’m going to try to blog through it to hold myself accountable.

An internship. I start my first internship with the international non-profit Dress for Success in two weeks! DFS is an awesome organization that I am honored to work with. To find out more about their mission, click the link!

Graduation!!! Yes, FINALLY. I graduate with my Bachelor’s in May! I never imagined that I would be as passionate as I am about what I’m doing in school. I love the communications world. Writing is an outlet and a tool for me, I love a solid strategic PR plan, and I could talk about target market demographics all day. It’s like, as soon as I started classes in my major, something clicked. I’m not exactly sure what ‘the plan’ is after graduation. I don’t have a formula for my dream job written out anywhere, but I have an idea of where I want to go and I’m prepared to bust my A$$ to get there.

So that’s really it. My life isn’t full of exotic travels, expensive handbags or glamorous parties and I’m not going to act like it is. If you’re one of the few who actually reads my rambling blog posts, thank you sincerely for taking the time to stumble through my words. A 2016 New Year’s resolution of mine is to share quality content with the people who do read my blog. I am no longer aiming to look like all of the other writers who I follow – even though they are lovely.

I believe, now, that you are more likely to succeed when you aren’t trying to be somebody else. Nobody does you like you, so just do you and let it happen.

Bring it on 2016, I’m ready.

That’s what’s in my jar.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

