Foodie Friday – Breakfast Overnight

I got a crock pot last year when I moved into my apartment, but until recently have not put it to use.

I’m a big breakfast eater. I love most breakfast meals and I go through a carton of eggs and a bag of bagels within days. My mornings are typically pretty busy. I like to wake up at 5 and go to the gym, so by the time I get home I’m starving! I want more than just a bowl of cereal to fuel my day. This is a great option that cooks over night so it’s ready by the time you wake up! AND it’ll feed you for a few days.

This is a recipe I modified to fit what I like.

DSC_0273

Ingredients

-1 green pepper

-1 red pepper

-1 cup chopped red onions

-Turkey sausage (I prefer turkey or Morningstar veggie, but any sausage works fine!)

-1 package of frozen shredded hash brown potatoes

-12 eggs

-1 cup milk

-Shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

1. Cook sausage according to package. I cooked on skillet and sprinkled with brown sugar.

2. In a bowl, combine chopped red onion, green pepper, and red pepper.

DSC_0275

3. Spray the interior of a 4-6 quart crock pot, or (I prefer to) use a crock pot liner for easy clean up!

4. Layer half a bag of frozen hash browns on the bottom.

5. On top of the bottom hash brown layer, evenly distribute the sausage so it covers the hash browns.

6. On top of the sausage, you will layer in the pepper/onion combination.

DSC_0277

7. Use the rest of the frozen hash browns to create another layer on top of the peppers and onions.

8. In a bowl, combine the 12 eggs, 1 cup of milk, and salt & pepper to taste. Pour the mixture on top of the layered ingredients.

9. Finally, top it off with shredded cheese.

DSC_0279

10. Cook on low in the crock pot for 8 hours.

It’s ready to serve!

DSC_0282

Because I have a 6 quart crock pot, this meal will serve 8! The most I ever cook for is 2, so I stored the rest in a container to eat for breakfast for the rest of the week!

DSC_0286

I’m starting to become a huge fan of crock pot recipes. They make it easy to mix up your meals and try new things. And with crock pot liners, the clean up is light!

What are your favorite crock pot recipes? Add me on Pinterest (@masongrimez) to see recipes I’ve pinned!

That’s what’s in my jar.

One thought on “Foodie Friday – Breakfast Overnight

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

